top of page

It's Just About That Time!

Welcome to my Thailand Blog, Adventure Thaime!

This is the best place to stay up to date on all my happenings over the next year to come!

On Wednesday morning I will leaving good old Boston, MA for three days of international orientation in NYC before heading to NJ for 6 more days of full Good Shepherd Volunteer program orientation. Following orientation, on August 23rd at 8:10pm, my 35+ hour journey to Nong Khai, Thailand begins. Ironically, before heading out, I will be flying from New York City back to Boston. It's only fitting that my goodbye of the United States is from my home town!

After an hour and 42 minute layover in Boston, I will be on a 12 hour 15 minute flight to Dubai. I am not quite sure what I am going to do with myself during this time. Let's hope I can get a little shut eye, although my with past flight history this isn't looking to promising. Luckily, I really like flying. I also get really nerdy when flying and all I can think about during takeoff and landing is about the vestibular system and the difference between endolymph and perilymph in our ears (shout out to Sensation and Perception and Professor Macevoy).

Once in Dubai, my community member, Tamarah, and I have a 3 hour and 5 minute layover before hopping on a 6 hour and 25 minute flight to Bangkok, Thailand. After that 12 hour flight, this 6 hour one looks like a breeze!

In Bangkok, Tamarah and I have a 5 hour and 10 minute layover before a quick one hour and 5 minute flight to Udon Thani, Thailand - about 50 minutes away from our final destination of Nong Khai, Thailand.

At this point, I have yet to start packing. I think I might be still in denial that I am leaving and therefore need to be fully packed in less than two days. I have only been home for about two weeks since returning from Baltimore, so it has been pretty difficult to balance being home, seeing friends and family, and also know that I should be preparing for Thailand. With that said, I haven't done much preparing. But I have gotten all my shots and my malaria medicine, so I think that's half the battle. And I know two phrases in Thai (sà-wàt-dee-kah = hello; sa-bai-dee-mai = how are you?), so you could say things are looking great. But I probably should go start packing so that I have clothes to wear for the year ahead of me!

Until next time!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page